2014 – Day 27 – January 27

What our dinner was SUPPOSED to look like...
What our dinner was SUPPOSED to look like…

Well, no handful of pictures to share today as this was a very uneventful one at The White House (that’s what Hubby says we should call our house – we’ve been looking for a “homestead” nickname for some time, and that one is a good description of our big white house; I also like that it conjures images of another white house – although I’m pretty sure our blog will definitely be less interesting than anything that would come from the OTHER White House).

Dinner tonight was Slow Cooker Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf – this was a new recipe and was NOT a success.  First, let me say that Hubby is not really a fan of meatloaf and, I learned tonight, he is also not a fan of ground turkey… so, I’m sure you can see where this is going.  The picture is from the Get Crocked website (ours did not look like that!); we’ve had a lot of good recipes from this website, but this one did not get the thumbs up from anyone in our family.

The girls and I had a great time making it – we braved negative temps in the teens at lunchtime to venture out to Cub Foods to buy ground turkey and eggs; the girls reveled in mixing the meat, eggs, and breadcrumbs with their hands – we don’t make a lot of food from scratch so this is a rare treat at our house!  We plopped the meat mixture into the slow cooker and let it go for six hours – I love slow cooker recipes…  at dinner time, I whipped up apple wood bacon mashed potatoes (yes, from a bag), fruit cocktail (yes, from a can), and zucchini with Italian tomatoes (also from a can) to complement our meatloaf.  I have to say, not only did it lack presentation – the meat was too white – it also definitely had a ground turkey texture…  I have to hand it to my family though; everyone ate a couple of bites before heading to the refrigerator to find hot dogs for dinner!

I remain undaunted however – I believe the problem was the ground turkey (not a family favorite) and not any fault of the cook!  =D  I’m already looking for my next recipe to try; although Hubby has said that he will make dinner for the next few nights…

The rest of the day was spent working – Hubby in the office and me at home – and doing school (one of the great things about online charter school is that ice, cold, and snow days do not stop the girls from staying on track with lessons).  And, in case you’re wondering, I did also make it 3 miles on the treadmill this evening (watched more of Say Anything – almost to the end so I’ll need to find another movie for my 2-mile run tomorrow).  My hip is paying for it a little, but I’ve got an ice pack, ibuprofen, and a glass of wine so I’m recovering just fine, and it feels so good to say that, at least for a week, I’ve been running consistently…  =P

Leave a Reply

