An entertaining pirate movie and new priorities

We watched the end of Treasure Island tonight; Loo Hoo, Doodle and I did anyway…  K-Cat and Hubby are visiting Jay Pea at school.  The movie was pretty good – for an old-fashioned pirate movie.  I have noticed that we are pretty desensitized to violence while watching this film.  It’s almost funny when someone gets shot; there is no blood, and they simply grab their head or their side or their arm and fall over… it leaves a lot to the imagination – which is probably a very good thing, but I can’t imagine a movie like this being a big hit today.

The story was pretty good.  As I said last time, I have not read this story or seen any other versions of the movie so that part was new to me.  I did like the ending; I would love to know what happens to everyone in the next few weeks, months, and years, which to me means that I liked the story and the characters enough to care. y…  K-Cat and Hubby are visiting Jay Pea at school.  The movie was pretty good – for an old-fashioned pirate movie.  I have noticed that we are pretty desensitized to violence while watching this film.  It’s almost funny when someone gets shot; there is no blood, and they simply grab their head or their side or their arm and fall over… it leaves a lot to the imagination – which is probably a very good thing, but I can’t imagine a movie like this being a big hit today.

I would recommend it for younger kids who are not already jaded with wanting their adventure movies to be more exciting and loud.  The pirate talk is fun to listen to.  There are a few characters that could be scary for younger kids, so they probably shouldn’t watch it alone.  I also just realized that there are no girls in this entire movie – not that girls wouldn’t like it, but they won’t find any characters to relate to…

Before the movie, I made it a point to get on the treadmill for a little over a mile – sounds like such a small effort to me after running/walking 4 to 10 last summer, but it was much harder than I thought to do it which is a good sign that I need to keep doing it in order to get back to where I can run/walk any real distance!  So, wish me luck…

After the movie, Loo Hoo headed out to babysit for The Boss; Doodle and I made chili for dinner – nothing fancy, a can of Hormel chili, cheese and oyster crackers.  I also had canned cabbage (sounds horrible, but it is actually one of my favorite things!).  We ate dinner while watching old “Ronald McDonald’s Wacky Adventure” movies on YouTube! and browsing through magazines.  Now it’s time to go through my growing pile of To Do notes and figure out some priorities for this next week, including walking!

Leave a Reply

