They’re almost here!

Hubby and the girls will be here in about two hours!  The house is clean, laundry is folded, and school is prepared for Doodle and K-Cat.  All that’s left is to go run, take a shower, and head to the airport…  I’m definitely ready to have them here and get back to my routine. 

Yesterday, after the rain moved out, I ran (okay mostly walked) about 6 miles.  I was able to maintain a pace of a little less than 13’30” which is really good since the marathon minimum is 16’00” – I do have to admit though that six miles is a long way!  I was good up until about Mile 4; then I started thinking it was a really good thing that I was two miles from home or I would have quit!  Today is just a short 30-minute maintenance run; I’m saving the big runs for Saturdays from here on out. 

Yesterday afternoon, I headed off to Goodwill and Target to buy a few things to decorate the house.  No furniture was moved and no walls were painted this week, but it wouldn’t be the same if I didn’t do something to change it up a little before everyone gets home. 

Of course, last night I stayed up way too late again and then a storm rolled in sometime in the early morning which had me up and not sleeping.  When I finally fell asleep soundly, I missed my alarm clock this morning and as a result missed church and Kindergarten Sunday school!  Have I mentioned that I’m glad my family will be back to help me get into a real routine?  It’s a really good thing that I don’t live alone – balance is NOT one of my strong points.  Okay, I don’t think it’s really “balance” – I think it’s just the bedtime thing.  I don’t know why a woman in her 40’s has a hard time turning off the lights and going to bed at a decent time.  It’s not just that the house is so big; I struggle with the same thing when I stay in hotel rooms!  Go figure… 

So, I took advantage of the last of my alone time today to get organized for this week – Doodle has a couple of final papers due for school that I need to make time to review; LooHoo is off to Arizona to visit family; and K-Cat needs to work twice as hard on school to finish on time with her sisters.  Should be a fun week…

Leave a Reply

