Winter is Here…

I have to confess, while there are a lot of things I love about living in Minnesota, the cold winter temps are NOT one of them!  Winter is definitely in the air here despite that we have still not had any sign of snow!  The temps took a dive to 14 degrees this morning, and Hubby got the ice skates out of storage (wishful thinking or stark reality?)!  The good news is that it looks like the wind has stopped blowing and the sun is out again. 

Tuesday night, I had dinner with friends from work to say “good-bye” to a friend who is moving into another part of our business.  It was great to catch up with everyone; we definitely don’t do enough of that with so many other priorities.  We went to McCormick & Schmick’s – it’s a seafood restaurant in the Westin in Edina – VERY nice!  The food was incredible – I don’t think I’ve had halibut that good since we left Alaska (I was gonna say how many years ago that was, but let’s leave it at – a long time ago).  By the time I got home, it was time to tuck everyone into bed. 

On that note, we’ve gotten back into a pretty good bedtime routine for those who are wondering – back to reading each night with the younger girls and now doing a Trek bible study with LooHoo.  The best part about the bible study is we are writing the scripture she is learning right on her bedroom walls!  It’s really starting to look pretty cool (if I do say so myself!).  She has one purple wall with yellow tree trunk silhouettes on it – we are writing the scripture in purple on the tree trunks!  In case you don’t already know, writing on my walls is one of my favorite activities! 

Last night was Awana – I got there early and still didn’t feel like I had enough time to really finish getting prepared.  However, the night went well, and, as usual, it was over much too quickly.  I led a small group this week which definitely made the night fly by even faster than usual, but it was fun to get to connect with some of the girls personally even briefly. 

Dinner (no surprise) was McDonald’s for the girls and BW3 for Hubby and me.  We only won one round of Bingo, but Hubby was the winner and after a rougher than usual night for him, it was a nice treat!  The games went fast and we were home before midnight!

Leave a Reply

